Tags

, , , , ,

Sometimes, I do not understand why a book is apart of the Canon. This one–I understand its contribution. This is a story of two boys from different worlds within the same religion. One comes from a modern, Orthodox Jewish family, the other a Hasidic Jewish family. We follow these boys through all the ups and downs of their friendship as they question and choose for themselves the path to take in their faiths.

There aren’t many books with positive Jewish characters, and this story gives us many. Readers are also given a look at American Judaism during WWII and through the rise of Zionism. I think everyone should read this at least once. I learned so much.

I will say the book is not written perfectly. The language is choppy and dry at times, but I think the story makes up for the lack of technique. The unique and gripping story is why this book won awards. Definitely worth the time. This is also a quick read. I flew through the pages.

